Patients no longer need to physically visit the doctors to receive MMJ evaluations. Now, they can connect online with state-licensed physicians every day of the week from 8 AM to 10 PM!
Following your approval for medicinal marijuana, you'll receive your written MMJ recommendation in your email in 24-48 hours. Afterward, you can use this recommendation to formally apply as a state patient on the Virginia Department of Health website.
Here, at NuggMD, patients can take advantage of our award-winning customer service team. If you find yourself needing assistance at any point in the MMJ application process, one of our CS agents can help.
Following an evaluation with NuggMD, patients will receive a written MMJ recommendation from a Virginia licensed physician that will be valid for one year.
Your private health information will always remain safe and secure with NuggMD. All health records remain protected by Virginia state law and HIPAA regulations.
Following your approval, your evaluating physician will send you your written MMJ certification as a PDF in your email. It should arrive within 24 - 48 hours.
NuggMD can accept all major credit cards, and our payment processing is guaranteed. Not only that, you will only be charged if your doctor approves you for MMJ use.
We know our customers may have varying schedules. That is why we've extended our hours to accommodate them all! The NuggMD customer service team can be reached every day between 8 AM - 10 PM.
If you need assistance at any point throughout the Virginia state application, our customer service team is available to help!
Head over to NuggMD.com and create your account. Make sure your health and personal information is accurate so your doctor can fully review your condition and give you a thorough evaluation.
You don't even need an appointment! Once you fill out your health information, the first available doctor will connect with you face-to-face via your video-enabled phone, laptop or computer.
Once approved, your NuggMD doctor will complete your certification and email it to you within 24 - 48 hours. You'll use this certification to complete your application with the state.
Use your certification and government-issued idea to apply with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy and pay your $50 application fee and wait for approval. That's it! All from the comfort of your own home.
Update: An affirmative defense is no longer required in Virginia. Virginia medical marijuana patients can legally possess cannabis so long as they hold a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the person's diagnosed condition or disease.
Virginia's medical marijuana laws are changing rapidly. Updates will be posted as legalization progresses.
Unlike many of the states that have established medical marijuana programs, marijuana remains illegal for both medical and recreational use in Virginia. Misdemeanor criminal penalties are imposed for minor cases of possession. While the state legislature did establish a state MMJ program, it didn't legalize marijuana per se.
Rather, Virginia allows its MMJ patients to use an affirmative defense if they meet the requirements for the MMJ program. To qualify for an affirmative defense, a Virginia MMJ patient must:
* Receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a licensed Virginia weed doctor,
* Complete an MMJ application with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy,
* Hold on to all the associated documentation that comes with medicinal marijuana products at all times,
* If stopped by a member of law enforcement, present them with their written recommendation,
* If charged with a criminal offense, present their written MMJ recommendation 10 days before their trial,
* Keep their MMJ ID valid and up-to-date by renewing it every year that use continues,
* Follow all of Virginia's medical marijuana laws, and
* Not violate any of Virginia's possession laws regarding restricted marijuana products such as flower, foodstuffs, or products containing concentrations with more than 10mg per dose.
Virginia's medical marijuana program is somewhat more complicated than that of many other states. Therefore, if you run into trouble throughout the process, you should contact a knowledgeable attorney or the Virginia Board of Pharmacy for information and instructions.
The Virginia registration has recently opened to applicants. As we've mentioned above, an affirmative defense is no longer needed so long as the patient is properly registered with a valid patient certification.
Be aware: A valid certification does not protect the use of marijuana products that aren't approved by the state. Flower products or marijuana edibles are not allowed under the state MMJ program. However, the state has approved tinctures, creams, oils, sprays, suppositories, lozenges, gels, and patches. This means that a tincture or capsule with 10mg or less of THC per dose is acceptable. A gram of flower, on the other hand, is not, and these cases would be subject to full criminal penalties. All those products that contain more than 10 mg of THC per unit dose would be subject to these penalties, too, no matter what form they come in.
Note that legislation is pending that would allow sale of unprocessed flower.
Patients will need to have had their written certifications issued to them before they can apply with the state. Written certifications also need to be dated within the past 12 months to be usable for the state application.
To apply, simply go to the Virginia Department of Health Professions Initial Applications page and complete all the listed instructions. The associated fee is only $50. Once you've filled out the entire application and paid the $50 fee, just fax, email, or mail the following documents to the department:
Virginia Board of Pharmacy Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive,Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
Fax: (804) 527-4472
Patients will need to send in the following documents:
* A birth certificate or other form of government-issued identification,
* A government-issued ID for a parent or legal guardian if the patient is under 18,
* Proof of residency in Virginia for the applying patient. This can be a government-issued Id or a tax bill.
* A copy of the patient's written MMJ recommendation.
The easiest way you can present this information is by sending a copy of your driver's license or government-issued ID along with your written recommendation. The other documents listed only become necessary if a driver's license or state ID cannot be presented by the qualifying patient.
The Board of Pharmacy will process your application in 7 - 10 days. Afterward, they will mail patients their MMJ IDs using their provided mailing address.
Virginia is a state located in the southeast of the United States. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Maryland, West Virginia, Washington D.C., North Carolina, Tennessee, and Kentucky. A little over 8.5 million people call Virginia their home, making it the 12th largest state, with over 35% of them residing within the Baltimore-Washington D.C. metro area.
Virginia was one of the first 13 colonies and the site of the first permanent English settlement. After the American victory in the Revolutionary War, Virginia became one of the original United States. The Colonial town of Williamsburg remains true to much of its history, with dozens of original buildings still standing. Others have been authentically reproduced true to their original spirit.
Many tourists visit the state from throughout the country and beyond to see sights such as the location of Patrick Henry's famous Revolutionary speech, and the restaurants that the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson would frequent. Virginia Beach is also a very popular locale that also features the Ocean Breeze Water Park. The Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Museum are also nearby.
Patients can find state-licensed weed doctors, here. Or, you can simply click Get Started on this page to see a fully-licensed Virginia medical marijuana doctor right now for just S149, no appointment necessary!
There is no formal list of MMJ qualifying conditions. Instead, evaluating MMJ physicians have the discretion to issue MMJ recommendations to anyone whom they believe MMJ will “alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use.”
Some of the more common conditions for which doctors approve patients for MMJ use are:
Patients only have to pay $149 to be evaluated with a fully-licensed NuggMD Virginia medical marijuana doctor. Not only that, but you'll only pay if you're approved!
You'll receive a full refund within 30 days if you haven't received the Certification for the use of Cannabis Oil form. Simply send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line “refund request.” Please include a brief description of your issue in the body of the email. NuggMD wants to be sure that you're 100% satisfied with your service, since you, the customer, are the most important part of our business. Once you're refunded, we are legally required to deactivate your medical certificate with the state. Once the refund has been initiated, please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to transfer back to the card you used for the transaction. If any issues arise, please feel free to reach out to customer support for further assistance.
Virginia patients, following approval, are issued MMJ IDs that are valid for one year. To remain an MMJ patient, you must renew your ID every year.
An affirmative defense is no longer required in Virginia. Virginia medical marijuana patients can legally possess cannabis so long as they hold a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the person's diagnosed condition or disease.
It costs $50 to apply with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. The application fee is not subject to a refund if rejected. Application fees for a parent or guardian of a patient only cost $25.
To complete your application, you'll need the following:
* Your written MMJ recommendation
* Proof of age
* Proof of identity
* Proof of residency
If the patient applying is under 18, a parent or guardian must also provide all these documents.
The following companies have opened their doors or will in the near future: Dharma Pharmaceuticals, Dalitso, Columbia Care, and Green Leaf Medical of Virginia.
Currently, Virginia has restricted both food and flower products. Nevertheless, the program authorizes the sale of lozenges, oils, suppositories, patches, creams, sprays, gels, tinctures, and capsules.
NuggMD is the fastest, easiest, and most secure way to get your medical marijuana recommendation, granting you access to the Oklahoma cannabis industry.
We believe pioneering a new era in cannabis means brandishing new behaviors and attitudes, ones that expose misinformation and uncover truths.
It's our mission to reveal cannabis for what it really is by facilitating easier access to it and empowering consumers with reliable information, personalized support and attention, and a conviction that puts your needs at the highest level.
Over 500,000 patients have trusted us to guide them on their cannabis journey in CA, NY, OK, and NV.
We're ready when you are.
NuggMD is the fastest, easiest, and most secure way to get
your medical marijuana recommendation, granting
you access to the Virginia cannabis industry.
We believe pioneering a new era in cannabis means
embracing new behaviors and attitudes, ones that expose
misinformation and uncover truths.
It's our mission to reveal cannabis for what it really is by
facilitating easier access to it and empowering consumers
with reliable information, personalized support and
attention, and a conviction that puts your
needs at the highest level.
Over 600,000 patients have trusted us to guide them
on their cannabis journey.
We're ready when you are.